LAX / DTW Curated By Thinkspace Opens June 6th

Opening Saturday, June 6th at Detroit’s Inner State Gallery “LAX/DTW” will feature over 80 local and international artists curated by Los Angeles-based gallery Thinkspace. The massive group exhibition serves as introduction to the burgeoning New Contemporary art movement for art lovers in the Midwest, handpicked by one of the scene’s most prolific galleries.LAX_DTW_Inner_State-Thinkspace_5X7-SMART-V2_Front“With roots firmly planted in illustration, pop culture, comics, street art and graffiti, put quite simply the New Contemporary Art Movement is art for the people,” Thinkspace co-founder Andrew Hosner said.

For the eighth iteration of Thinkspace’s traveling group exhibitions, co-owners Andrew and Shawn Hosner hand picked Detroit to showcase one of their most ambitious collections to date. As part of the exhibition the Hosners have also picked two featured artists, Stephanie Buer and Liz Brizzi for their unique hyperreal depictions highlighting Detroit’s vast and varied landscapes.

stephanie_buer-laxdtw-thinkspace-1xrun-02Stephanie Buer

Brizzi_Out-of-the-waterLiz Brizzi

“We are extremely honored to present this amazing group show alongside Thinkspace. We have always admired the way Andrew and his partners have pushed boundaries and constantly strive to elevate each of their artists. Their attention to detail and passion in this community is unparalleled,” Inner State Gallery owner Dan Armand said.

Ben-EINE-james-bullough-thinkspace-1xrun-laxdtw-02Ben Eine / James Bullough

 This event will be free and open to the public with an artists reception June 6th from 7-10pm and will be on view through July 4th, 2015.

Featuring 16×20 inch works from:
123Klan, Aaron Nagel, Adam Caldwell, Alexis Diaz, Allison Sommers, Amanda Marie,Andy Kehoe, Angry Woebots, Anthony Clarkson, Bec Winnel, Brett Amory, Brian Mashburn, Carl Cashman, Chie Yoshii, Christine Wu, Craig ‘Skibs’ Barker, Curiot, Dan-ah Kim, Dave MacDowell, David Cooley, Derek Gores, Derek Hess, Drew Leshko, EINE, Ekundayo, Erik Jones, Erik Siador, Frank Gonzales, Fumi Nakamura, Glenn Barr, Greg Mike, Henrik Aa. Uldalen, Hueman, Jacub Gagnon, James Bullough, James Marshall (Dalek), Jeff Ramirez, Jeremy Hush, Jim Houser, Jolene Lai, Joram Roukes, Joseph Martinez, Kelly VIvanco, Ken Flewellyn, Kikyz1313, Ki Sung Koh, Kevin Peterson,  Kojiro Ankan Takakuwa, Kozyndan, Kwon Kyung-yup, Kyle Stewart, Labrona, Lindsey Carr, Linnea Strid, Luke Chueh, Marco Mazzoni, Mari Inukai, Mary Iverson, Matthew Grabelsky, Meggs, Michael Ramstead, Michelle Tanguay, Mike Egan, Naoto Hattori, Naturel, Nick Jaskey, Nosego, Okuda, Paul Barnes, Paula Zammit, Persue, Peter Adamyan, Ryan Hewett, Rodrigo Luff, Rone, Sarah Joncas, Sean Mahan, Sebastian Wahl, Seth Armstrong, Shark Toof, Stinkfish, Tony Philippou, Tran Nguyen & Troy Lovegates.

matthew-grabelsky-meggs-thinkspace-1xrun-02Matthew Grabelsky / Meggs

To Join The Advanced Collector’s Preview Email [email protected]